Deutsche Version svensk version version francaise
Johannes-Christian Rost

I was born into a rather large family in a Brandenburgian village in former German Democratic Republic. There I lived a rich and exciting life amongst countless books, which only the music and beautiful nature of my home could tear me away from. Quite soon I found out that one can actually make books oneself and so it became my favourite occupation to this day.

 From 1975 to 1981 I enjoyed education as a graphic designer by outstanding teachers at the art college Berlin-Wei├čensee. Then I spent six years in East Berlin as a freelance illustrator. After our children had been born, and my wife and me had been insisting unwaveringly on leaving the country, we were finally granted exit to the neighboring country in 1987.

 When my wife got a job in the Stuttgart Philharmonic Orchestra, we decided to settle there. Since then, I have created illustrations for numerous publishers and agencies in Stuttgart, Frankfurt, Munich and many other places. What I like to draw best are illustrations which allow the viewer deep insights into complex natural or technical processes. Regardless of whether it concerns geological processes, the metamorphosis of a fern, the function of a biogas plant, the steps involved in multiplying plants or inserting an artificial heart valve - I do not rest until I have gained full understanding of the subject, whereupon I proceed to put my excitement over the acquired knowledge into my work.

 Every now and then I also start my old etching press to commit to paper the images which loneliness, trepidation, and anger at the senseless noise our growth society create in my head. Because I mostly spend many hours each day alone at my work table, I join the choir rehearsal once or twice a week and meet people who dedicate their passion and ability to music.

 However, every summer the silence and sheer vastness of Sweden and the Norwegian tundra lures me away, and I escape the hostile uproar of the metropolitan areas. At the sight of the Northern Arctic Ocean, I gather fresh powers and I am reminded anew of what is important in life.
Page design © 2021 by Elias Rost

svensk version version francaise english version
Johannes-Christian Rost

Ich bin in einer nicht gerade kleinen Pfarrersfamilie in einem brandenburgischen Dorf in der damaligen DDR aufgewachsen. Das war ein überaus reiches und spannendes Leben zwischen zahllosen Büchern, von denen mich nur die Musik und die schöne Natur meiner Heimat fortlocken konnte. Recht bald habe ich herausbekommen, daß man Bücher auch selbst machen kann und so ist dies bis heute meine Lieblingsbeschäftigung geblieben.

 Von 1975 bis 1981 erhielt ich bei hervorragenden Lehrern an der Kunsthochschule Berlin-Weißensee meine künstlerische Ausbildung als Graphiker. Dann habe ich sechs Jahre in Ostberlin als freiberuflicher Illustrator gearbeitet. Nachdem unsere Kinder geboren waren und meine Frau und ich vier Jahre beharrlich darauf bestanden hatten, erlaubte uns die DDR 1987 die Ausreise ins Nachbarland.

 Als meine Frau eine Stelle als Musikerin in Stuttgart erhielt, sind wir hier gelandet. Seitdem werde ich von vielen Verlagen und Agenturen in Stuttgart, Frankfurt, München und anderen Orten mit der Anfertigung von Illustrationen beauftragt. Am liebsten mache ich Zeichnungen, die dem Betrachter Einblicke ins Innere komplexer natürlicher oder technischer Vorgänge vermitteln. Egal, ob es sich um geologische Prozesse, die Metamorphose eines Farns, die Funktion einer Biogasanlage, die Arbeitsschritte beim Vermehren von Pflanzen oder beim Einsetzen einer künstlichen Herzklappe handelt - ich ruhe nicht eher, bis ich das Thema völlig verstehe und dann möchte ich mit der Darstellung die Begeisterung über meine gewonnenen Erkenntnisse weitergeben.

 Immer wieder mal setze ich auch meine alte Radierpresse in Gang, damit sichtbar wird, welche Bilder Einsamkeit, Beklommenheit, auch Wut über den sinnlosen Lärm unserer Wachstumsgesellschaft in meinem Kopf entstehen lassen. Weil ich meistens viele Stunden des Tages allein an meinem Arbeitstisch verbringe, gehe ich ein, zweimal die Woche abends zur Chorprobe und treffe Menschen, die sich mit Hingabe und Können der Musik widmen.

 Aber jeden Sommer lockt mich die Stille und endlose Weite Schwedens und der norwegischen Tundra und ich entfliehe dem feindseligen Brodeln der städtischen Ballungsräume. Dann fühle ich im Anblick des Nördlichen Eismeeres meine Energien zurückfließen und weiß von neuem, worauf es im Leben ankommt.
Page design © 2011 by Elias Rost